Downloads

Solo (Standalone)

Akeeba Solo (Standalone)

version 1.9.3 Stable

Released on: Monday, 01 August 2016 07:32

What's new

Removed Dropbox API v1 integration.. If you are still using it please upgrade to our Dropbox API v2 integration immediately. Unfortunately, due to the way the two Dropbox API versions work it is impossible to have an automatic switch to the v2 API. Please read below for more information about the Dropbox switch.

Restoration: a warning is displayed if the database table name prefix contains uppercase characters. Keep in mind that MySQL does not work reliably with table names containing uppercase characters on servers with a case-insensitive filesystem such as all Windows and most macOS installations. The only RELIABLE way to transfer a site between these servers and a case-sensitive server (e.g. Linux, what most hosts out there use) is having all lowercase table names. PHP CMS / applications already do that. However, if you set up a database table name prefix in uppercase or mixed case letters you are triggering MySQL's limitations which will result in problems backing up and restoring your site. If that's the case with your site the restoration script will warn you. Conversely, we added some smart code during backup to look for the wrong case table names and try to back them up. It usually can do that unless you've got tables with the same name in all lowercase. In this case you've got a broken database and nobody can help you.

Removal of the Dropbox v1 API integration and how to switch to the v2 API

We have removed integration with the Dropbox v1 API because Dropbox itself announced it is deprecated and will be turned off by June 28th, 2017. We chose to remove support for the deprecated API now to make sure that all of our clients will be ready for Dropbox' deprecation next year. If you think that's an overkill please keep in mind that we added Dropbox v2 support in November 2015 with the documentation note that it's the recommended version and that the v1 API may stop working at any point.

Unfortunately, Dropbox' v1 and v2 APIs are very different and there is no way to have an automatic migration from v1 to v2. The access tokens used in the two API versions are and work different. This means that by upgrading to a new version of Akeeba Backup / Solo your backup profiles which were using the deprecated Dropbox v1 API integration are no longer linked to a post-processing engine and produce errors.

Luckily there's a very simple process you have to follow once on every site and backup profile you want to (re)link to Dropbox.

THIS PROCESS ONLY NEEDS TO TAKE PLACE ONCE PER BACKUP PROFILE AND SITE!

  • Go to your Akeeba Backup / Solo main page.
  • Select the backup profile you want to relink.
  • Click on Configuration.
  • In the Post-processing Engine dropdown select “Upload to Dropbox (v2 API)”
  • Click on “Configure” next to it.
  • Click on the “Authentication – Step 1” button.
  • You may have to log in to Dropbox if you are not already logged in. Also, if you had not authorized another Akeeba Backup or Akeeba Solo installation to use Dropbox you may see a confirmation about it. If you are already logged in and have authorized our software to use Dropbox you will not see any of that.
  • You then see a page with the big title “Dropbox Authentication is almost complete”. Click on the blue “Complete Dropbox authentication” button below it.
  • Now you're back to Akeeba Backup / Solo. Click on Save & Close to complete the setup.

Unlike the Dropbox v1 API you must not copy the token from one profile / site to another. Instead, repeat the process above. Dropbox API v2 produces a new token every time you link a new backup profile or site to Dropbox without revoking the previous one.

Again, we apologize for having to go through this process but this is due to changes made on Dropbox' side. On the upside, the Dropbox API v2 is much more stable, allows for bigger uploads and lets us perform “chunk uploads”, a technique which allows us to transfer very large backup archives without you having to set up small part sizes. You can now safely use a Part Size for Split Archives up to 2047 Mb without any upload worries.

Updating Akeeba Backup for WordPress to version 1.9.x

Due to changes in the packaging format and / or issues in the updater, you cannot update automatically from Akeeba Backup for WordPress versions 1.0 through 1.8.2 (inclusive) to version 1.9.0 and beyond. You will have to do that manually.

Heads up! You must NOT uninstall or deactivate the plugin before the update. Doing so may result in loss of your backup settings and / or your backup archives. Instead, here's what to do:

  • Download the ZIP file for Akeeba Backup for WordPress 1.9 and extract it locally. You will see an extracted folder named akeebabackupwp.
  • Upload the files from the extracted akeebabackupwp folder into your site's wp-content/plugins/akeebabackupwp folder, overwriting your existing files, using FTP or SFTP. Please note that the name of the folder on your site may be different than akeebabackupwp, e.g. akeebabackupwpcore, akeebabackupwp (1) or something similar. It depends on how you installed the plugin.
  • Log in to WordPress' wp-admin and access Akeeba Backup for WordPress to automatically complete the update process. There is no message when the process completes. You just see the main page of Akeeba Backup for WordPress (this means the update succeeded).

You will only need to do this once, upgrading to version 1.9 or later for the first time.

PHP 5.3.3 or later or PHP 7 is required

Akeeba Solo and Akeeba Backup for WordPress 1.9 are compatible with PHP 5.3.04 and later versions, including 5.4, 5.5, 5.6 and the newest version of PHP, 7.0. We'd like to remind you that most third party software which can be backed up by our software do not support PHP 7 yet. As a result we can't guarantee a trouble-free restoration or tha the restored site will work on PHP 7 as this depends entirely on the software powering your site.

Note: there is no such thing as PHP 6. PHP versions jumped from 5.6 to 7.0. Why? Well, it's a long story. TL;DR: It doesn't have to make sense, just accept it.

Changelog

Bug fixes

  • [HIGH] Failure to upload to newly created Amazon S3 buckets
  • [LOW] Chrome and other isbehaving browsers autofill the database username/password, leading to restoration failure if you're not paying very close attention. We are now working around these browsers.
  • [LOW] Deleting the currently active profile would cause a white page / internal server error
  • [LOW] The [WEEKDAY] variable in archive name templates returned the weekday number (e.g 1) instead of text (e.g. Sunday)
  • [LOW] WebDAV prost-processing: Fixed handling of URLs containing spaces
  • [MEDIUM] Import from S3 didn't work with API v4-only regions (Frankfurt, São Paulo)

New features

  • Automatically handle unsupported database storage engines when restoring MySQL databases

Our Core versions are provided free of charge, but they only scratch the surface of what's possible. Subscribe today to get access to the exclusive features and enhanced support of our Professional releases!

Subscribe Already a subscriber? Log in.